Skip to Content

NSEA Elects New Leadership at Annual Delegate Assembly

At the annual Nevada State Education Association (NSEA) Delegate Assembly, held this year in Las Vegas, NSEA delegates from across Nevada elected new officers including President, Vice President, Secretary Treasurer, and National Education Association (NEA) Directors. Clark County Education Association President (CCEA) Ruben Murillo, Jr. will assume the responsibilities of NSEA President when outgoing President Lynn Warne’s term ends in July.

"NSEA has always been a trusted voice on education issues in Nevada. Lynn has honored that tradition and I intend to build upon it by representing educators and continuing to work for improvements and increased funding for K-12 education in Nevada," said President-Elect Ruben Murillo, Jr.

Warne served as NSEA President for six years, or two terms, the maximum under NSEA constitution and bylaws.

"It has been an honor to represent the voice of educators throughout Nevada for my two terms as NSEA president," said Warne. "I have confidence in Ruben to assume the NSEA presidency and lead our Association in the campaign to enact The Education Initiative, advocate for Nevada’s students, and provide educators with the tools they need to improve public education."

President Warne spearheaded The Education Initiative campaign to bring dedicated, predictable revenue to K-12 education, which will be decided by voters in 2014. For more than 25 years, she has worked tirelessly on behalf of NSEA members and the education community throughout the state and in Carson City.

Following is a list of the incoming NSEA officers:

President – Ruben Murillo, Jr.

Vice President – Brian Rippet

Secretary Treasurer – Brian Wallace

NEA Director – Natha Anderson

NEA Director – Brian Flick

Embed This Page (x)

Select and copy this code to your clipboard